Dean Close School was founded in 1886; it is a registered charity and was incorporated as a company limited by guarantee in 2002.

The School is managed by the Headmaster and his team. He reports to a Board of Trustees.

Annual Report


Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees are elected by the Council of Members from amongst its membership and appointed as the legal directors of the School. They set the School's strategic direction and are accountable to all stakeholders for the School, meeting regularly throughout the year.

Trustees serve for a term of four years before being eligible for re-election. Prior to being recommended for re-election they are appraised by a committee of Trustees and the Chairman, as appropriate.  With the exception of the Chairman, who in addition to time as a Board Member may serve as Chairman for ten years maximum, Trustees may not serve more than three terms of four years.

The Trustees bring experience from the charitable, educational, financial and commercial sectors, the clergy, the armed forces and civil services.  They carry a considerable burden of responsibility on an entirely voluntary basis and the School is very grateful for their untiring support and commitment. The current Board of Trustees is:

Mrs K Carden MPhil BA - Chairman
N C J Bewes BA
Dr W E Bowring BEd ADB(Ed) Med
J M Carter
M J Cartwright BA FCA  - Vice-Chairman and Treasurer
The Revd R M Coombs BSc MA
Mrs H S L Daltry, BA
Mrs R Dick, BA ACA
C S S Drew MA
R S Harman MA
Mrs S L Hirst BEd
The Revd D J S Munro MA


Mrs Kathryn Carden
Chairman of the Board of Trustees
c/o The Bursary
Dean Close School
Shelburne Road
Cheltenham  GL51 6HE                                  

The Board of Trustees delegates the day to day running of the School to the Headmaster of the Senior School, who is in overall charge of the three Schools, the Headmaster of the Preparatory School and the Headmistress of the Pre-Preparatory School.  Any parental concerns should be raised with the Heads and their staff in the first instance.


The following committees meet regularly to assist the Board in the governance of the School.  The committees report to the Board of Trustees and their terms of reference are regularly reviewed.  Meetings are also attended by the Senior Management of the School, as appropriate.

  • Finance And General Purpose Committee: Financial policy and detailed governance of the School.
  • Nominations Committee: Consideration of prospective Council and Board Members and recommendations to the Board of Trustees, together with succession planning. New Trustees and Council Members are proposed to Council by the Board of Trustees.
  • Concessions Working Party: Policy on the granting of fee discounts and review of larger awards.
  • Remunerations Committee: Review of senior staff remuneration.

Council of Members

The Members of the Company are known collectively as the Council.  The Members act as ambassadors for the School, using their wide range of knowledge and experience for the benefit of the School.

Council members are appointed following a recommendation to the Nominations Committee, a small sub-committee of Trustees under the Chairman of the Board.  If anyone is interested in being considered for membership of the Council, they should approach the Clerk to the Governors for further information.  Any applications will be considered by the Nominations Committee with reference to the School's needs and the ability of the nominee to contribute; if appropriate they are recommended to the Board and Council for election.  Council Members serve for a term of five years before being eligible for re-election.

The primary function of the Council is to elect the Trustees and to hold them to account for the policy and direction of the School.  It meets formally twice a year to receive the Annual Report and Accounts and to elect the Board of Trustees.  At these meetings the Council is given presentations on various aspects of the School's activities.

Council Members

The Council is led by the President, currently the Baroness Cox of Queensbury.

The Baroness Cox - President
Sir John Adye KCMG MA
Professor D W Aviss OBE FRSA
G W Barnes
N C J Bewes BA
*A R Bird BA
Dr W E Bowring BEd ADB(Ed) Med 
Air Commodore M Brecht CBE MA
A J Bruckland BA
*C J Buckett FCA
*Mrs N Cansdale BA MA
J M Carter
M J Cartwright BA FCA
Mrs G A M Cocks BA Dip Ed
*J R B Cook MA
The Revd R M Coombs BSc MA
Mrs H S L Daltry BA
Mrs R Dick BA ACA
C S S Drew MA
I Duffin FCA BCom
*Professor R J W Evans MA PhD FBA
Mr D Goode MA, M Phil
N V J Goodwin
The Revd Dr T F L Griffiths PhD BA
Mrs L S M Hardy OBE JP
R S Harman MA
The Earl of Harrowby MA FRICS
Miss F Hildick-Smith BA
Professor E Higginbottom MA DPhil BMus FRCO
S M Hill MA
Mrs S L Hirst BEd
*H J Hodgkins ACIB
*The Revd Dr J M Holmes MA PhD VetMB MRCVS
A J Hunt
The Very Revd J D Irvine MA
*N Jenkins
Mrs C M Lainé BA JP
P J Lawrence
Prof F Leishman MA PhD MSc
C Lion-Cachet MSc MBA
*C P Lynam MA
I W Marsh BSc                                   
Gen Sir J C McColl KCB CBE DSO
The Revd D J S Munro MA MBA
Mrs P G Napier
*M Philip-Sorensen
C R H Rank
*Lord Ribeiro KT CBE OV FRCS
Mrs K Riding LLB 
M P Smith MA
Mrs J Sykes BA
Maj E T Taylor BA RA
Mr S Thomas LLB
*J Townsend MA
The Revd Canon T P Watson
The Rt Revd J S Went MA
The Revd Canon P R Williams MTh
*The Revd P C Youde LLB

* Old Decanian

Charitable Status and Incorporation

Dean Close School is a company limited by guarantee and registered in England No. 4193948 which has its registered office at Dean Close Scoool, Shelburne Road, Cheltenham, GL51 6HE.  Charity registered in England and Wales No 1086829.


Filter Calendar by School: